The Administrative Divisions of the Municipality
- Translated by Leslie A. Riggle, Kansas -

Before 1921 in Kreis (county) Bütow, there were four Tuchens: Königlich [= Royal]
Groß Tuchen, Adlich [(adlig) = Nobel] Groß Tuchen, Klein Tuchen and Borntuchen.
Of these, Adlich Groß Tuchen was a knight's estate, the others were farm villages.
The boundaries of the farm village of Königlich Groß Tuchen included, for
example, Pranten, Pionen, Wiesental, Kampen, Smetken, Dombrow and Wohrlanden
(also known as Wurthen).
To make up for the differences in the quality and fertility of the land and
to make each more or less equal, each had a parcel in this area, which, as
time went on, was divided and subdivided to give each heir a portion.
It was a total mix-up. No individual could pasture an animal on his own
parcel and many were so small that there was not even room for a long wagon
to turn around. Due to these divisions what has been called three field
farming was instituted. A third of the land was set aside for winter crops,
a third for summer crops and the rest was used as pasture. Every year
adjustments had to be made. The beef cattle, the sheep and the swine were
separated in the village and were taken to the common pasture and watched over
by herdsmen. The village herdsmen lived in the blacksmith's house, along with
the blacksmith.
As the Stein'schen Reforms [Freiherr vom Stein (1757-1831), Prussian politician]
were instituted [1807 - 1810] the farmers were to pay certain taxes. For this
purpose it was necessary to determine the extent of each's boundaries. The old
boundaries were disregarded and the land was again apportioned according to
its fertility.
By the time all the surveys and agreements were finished several years had
passed. In 1836 it was finally possible to get all the surveying done and
the final report was approved by the General Commission in Frankfurt on the
Oder and deposited in the archives.

(Remark from E. Trapp: Several of the supporting documents were in Groß
Tuchen and fell into the hands of the Russians and Poles.)

Following is a list giving the size of the parcels in sheets 1 and 2:

von DOMARIUS, village mill 225 Morgen
Catholic pastorate 205 Morgen
Lutheran pastorate 195 Morgen
ZÜHLKE, magistrate's farmstead 495 Morgen
SCHLIERKER, farmstead 240 Morgen
SCHLÜTT, Karl, farmstead 200 Morgen
POLZIN, Johann, farmstead 220 Morgen
SCHLUTT, Matthias, farmstead 260 Morgen
MOLDENHAUER, farmstead 240 Morgen
LIMBERG, Johann, farmstead 240 Morgen
Tavern 210 Morgen
2 Büddner, farmsteads, each 50 Morgen 100 Morgen
School and smithy, each 5 Morgen 5 Morgen

Together 2,840 Morgen

In addition the following also belonged to Groß Tuchen:

The Obermühle (together 260 Morgen, divided around 1900)
with the farmsteads:
BARSKE 60 Morgen
WOLFF 40 Morgen
PELZ 60 Morgen
RADDE 100 Morgen

Parcels in Wiesental:
P. BIASTOCH 50 Morgen
M. GAUL 50 Morgen
Bodies of water 160 Morgen

Together: 760 Morgen

Incorporations (1926) of
Adlich Groß Tuchen 1,400 Morgen
Forest enclave Wohrlanden 100 Morgen
Forest area Jungingen 2,000 Morgen

Together: 3,500 Morgen

Total 7,000 Morgen
or 1,750 Hektars
or 4,375 acres

(4 Pomeranian Morgen equal approx 1 Hektar)
(1 Hektar equals 2.5 acres)